Renovation and Passive Aggression….it’s not a good thing!

This weekend was a bit crazy and that’s putting it mildly!

PA Man and I have decided to stay in our current home, and just do some upgrades and remodeling, primarily the kitchen, since that’s where I spend a lot of my time.

Let me back up….it’s been my dream to own a small farm in the country with chickens and ducks and maybe a cow that we can butcher for meat to fill the freezer, and a huge garden, etc.

Well that’s MY dream, not PA Mans, so you KNOW that he’s going to give me a hard time ANY CHANCE HE GETS…and he has, but then denies it, LOL, sooo typical….so anyway, I’ve shelved that idea, and decided to make the best of what I’ve got…A nice size yard in a very small subdivision in the suburbs, it’s not out in the country like I want,  but we do have a horse farm right behind us, and a small creek, so it’s close to a country setting and with that, I have to be content.

i already have some chickens, even though PA Man complains about them, again, no surprise there right? LOL!  I sell the extra eggs to friends and that pays for their feed, and I trade 3 doz a week to my sons piano teacher to help offset the cost of his lessons, so PA Man can’t complain TOO much! HA!

So the kitchen is torn apart, cabinets off of the wall, we have a flooring guy coming in next Monday to put wood floors down in the kitchen and up the stairs…and I can see PA Man is not handling it well at all….the only thing I can think of is that he likes order in every aspect of his life…and there’s A LOT of disorder in our home right now so maybe that’s driving him deeper into PA Mode??

So let’s go to Friday night.

I have a ministry that I run for my church…and PA Man helps me, because “I’m your husband I should be there to support you!” Yeah…whatev!

Anyway, he was complaining about this ministry…it’s too much work…why do we have to do everything…blah, blah, blah!

The crazy thing is, I do MOST of the work…he’s at his office all day, so I do what needs to be done for this ministry, so his complaining was really getting to me and I snapped at him, “Well stay home then! I can do this myself!”

Of course that would never happen! He has to be “seen” by others as the loving, caring husband…and short of causing a scene at church, there’s not much I can do, except ignore him, which I did!

I’m soooo tired of him acting like this….passive aggressives SUCK!!!  The next 6 weeks are going to be HARD!! Thank goodness he’s out of town on business this week…I need a break!

I am excited for my new kitchen…I bake a lot and I bought a gas double oven…a cooks dream!

My thought is that IF PA Man and I do end up separating….that maybe my reputation as a baker will help me earn a little extra money, I make some mean cinnamon rolls, breads and cheesecakes! LOL!

You never know what plan God has…right?? 🙂

Have a GREAT week!

2 thoughts on “Renovation and Passive Aggression….it’s not a good thing!

  1. Hey there! I don’t read blogs much anymore, so I missed this post until now. Hope the kitchen is coming along as you want it – how wonderful to have your dream kitchen!

    I know what you mean about PAs – my son-in-law is a 100 percent PA and even though he is not my husband, he is close enough to my life that he sometimes drives me crazy. Always looking to be the victim and always wanting to look like the perfect one in any relationship… he even does this with me and with his daughter. My daughter is like you. She doesn’t put up with the crap anymore.

    Daniel has these tendencies because of the way he was brought up, but he is capable of seeing through his old blinders most of the time now. There are still times when I can’t get through to him, though.

    For my part, my heart will never be fully healed, but I have put it safely away in a pretty box in my mind. I don’t let it come out very often. This way I can live my life to its fullest. I am doing all sorts of things, I am in the best shape of my life, and I am closer to God than ever. Like you, I imagine. We have always been so much the same in so many ways.

    Hey, let’s talk soon.

    Love & prayers,
    DJ

    • DJ…YES! Let’s talk soon….I miss you and was just thinking about you last week, almost sent you a text, but wasn’t sure of the time difference 😀
      I started counseling again today…it was good, I’ll tell you about it when we talk! 🙂

Leave a Reply

